VA Fraud Cases 2026: Charges, Guilty Pleas and Sentences From Official Records
Updated Nov 1, 2026 | Sources: VA Office of Inspector General and U.S. Department of Justice
This page tracks VA fraud cases in 2026 listed by the Department of Veterans Affairs Office of Inspector General in its Criminal Investigative Updates and announced by the Justice Department and U.S. Attorney's Offices. It covers 78 cases: veterans benefits fraud, VA health care and CHAMPVA fraud, Caregiver Support Program fraud, fiduciary theft, VA home loan and contract fraud, and fraud by VA employees. Each row shows the date, case, federal district, status and the dollar amount exactly as stated in the official summary, with a link to the record. Some cases mainly involve Medicare, Medicaid or pandemic loans but are included because VA OIG investigated them. We do not name individuals. Read the official record for names, charges and details.
Status counts: Sentenced 26, Charged 18, Pleaded guilty 14, Civil settlement 11, Convicted 6, Criminal and civil resolution 1, Sentenced (after guilty plea) 1, Non-prosecution agreement 1.
2026 National Health Care Fraud Takedown: according to VA OIG, it conducted 13 investigations in the June 2026 takedown, resulting in charges against 18 individual defendants and one corporation, with approximately $21.4 million in losses to VA's Community Care and CHAMPVA programs. The Justice Department reported 455 defendants charged nationwide in connection with more than $6.5 billion in alleged fraud. Justice Department announcement.
2026 VA Fraud Cases: Date, District, Status and Amount
| Date | Case | Type | Federal district | Status | Amount as stated | Official record |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oct 23, 2026 | Florida woman charged with stealing VA Dependency and Indemnity Compensation benefits; indictment alleges about 35 years | Benefits theft | Florida, Middle | Charged (allegation) | U.S. seeking forfeiture of $397,120 | Official release |
| Oct 23, 2026 | Maine man pleaded guilty to false statements to VA (claimed he could not walk or stand since 2004) | False statements | Maine | Pleaded guilty | Not stated | Official release |
| Oct 22, 2026 | Missouri surgeon and Kansas distributor sentenced in SpineFrontier spinal-implant kickback scheme | Health care kickbacks | Massachusetts | Sentenced | Forfeiture of $379,000 (surgeon) and $947,500 (distributor) | Official release |
| Oct 13, 2026 | CVS agrees to pay $315 million to resolve False Claims Act allegations over opioid and controlled-substance prescriptions | False Claims Act | Rhode Island | Civil settlement | $315 million | Official release |
| Oct 9, 2026 | Oklahoma medical supply company owner: Medicare, TRICARE and CHAMPVA medical equipment scheme; convicted July 22, sentenced to 14 years | CHAMPVA / health care fraud | Florida, Middle | Sentenced | Attempted to defraud the government of $30 million; obtained more than $8 million | Official release Earlier release (Oct 9, 2026) |
| Oct 8, 2026 | Missouri Army veteran sentenced in forced labor case; exaggerated disability to increase VA Caregiver Support Program pay | Caregiver program fraud | Missouri, Eastern | Sentenced | More than $83,000 restitution paid to VA | Official release |
| Sep 29, 2026 | Two defendants pleaded guilty to conspiring to win government set-aside contracts through fraud, including a $5.3 million VA medical center contract | Contract fraud | Pennsylvania, Middle | Pleaded guilty | Over $80 million (Army depot contracts); $5.3 million (VA medical center contract) | Official release |
| Sep 25, 2026 | Texas mental health clinic owner convicted in TMS therapy scheme involving servicemembers and veterans; indicted in the 2026 National Health Care Fraud Takedown | Health care fraud | Texas, Northern | Convicted | $26 million scheme; over $5.5 million in kickbacks | Official release Earlier release (Sep 25, 2026) |
| Sep 25, 2026 | Former VA field examiner indicted on wire fraud charge over COVID-19 PPP and disaster loans | COVID-19 fraud (VA employee) | Indiana, Southern | Charged (allegation) | About $101,000 | Official release |
| Sep 21, 2026 | Four indicted in mortgage fraud scheme involving FHA, VA and conventional loans | VA home loan fraud | Texas, Northern | Charged (allegation) | More than 20 loans totaling more than $7 million | Official release |
| Sep 15, 2026 | Missouri man who refused Marine Corps training as a conscientious objector admitted faking combat service and medals to collect VA disability pay | Stolen valor / benefits fraud | Missouri, Western | Pleaded guilty | More than $124,000 | Official release |
| Sep 11, 2026 | Florida eye practice and physician owner agree to pay $350,000 to resolve False Claims allegations over tests billed to VA and Medicare | False Claims Act | Massachusetts | Civil settlement | $350,000 | Official release |
| Sep 4, 2026 | Missouri caregiver pleaded guilty to stealing from a veteran client who received VA and Social Security benefits | Theft from veteran | Missouri, Eastern | Pleaded guilty | More than $320,000 | Official release |
| Sep 2, 2026 | West Virginia inmate serving a life sentence pleaded guilty to collecting VA benefits on a false PTSD claim | Benefits fraud | West Virginia, Southern | Pleaded guilty | More than $300,000 | Official release |
| Aug 24, 2026 | Georgia man indicted for aggravated identity theft, health care fraud and theft of government money | Identity theft / health care fraud | Georgia, Southern | Charged (allegation) | Not stated | Official release |
| Aug 12, 2026 | Texas pharmacist convicted in compounded-medication kickback scheme billed to VA and the Labor Department | Health care kickbacks | Texas, Southern | Convicted | $20 million scheme; over $2 million in kickbacks | Official release |
| Aug 10, 2026 | Veloxis Pharmaceuticals agrees to pay over $46 million to resolve criminal and civil kickback liability | Health care kickbacks | Massachusetts | Criminal and civil resolution | Over $46 million | Official release |
| Aug 10, 2026 | SpineFrontier CFO sentenced to four months for kickback conspiracy (pleaded guilty May 12) | Health care kickbacks | Massachusetts | Sentenced | Over $540,000 in bribes; $9,500 fine | Official release Earlier release (Aug 10, 2026) |
| Aug 10, 2026 | Pennsylvania woman who worked at a VA medical center sentenced for hiding wages to collect SSI | Benefits fraud (VA employee) | Pennsylvania, Western | Sentenced | Ordered to pay more than $18,000 | Official release |
| Aug 10, 2026 | Kansas Army veteran found guilty of defrauding VA caregiver benefits | Caregiver program fraud | Kansas | Convicted | More than $170,000 | Official release |
| Aug 5, 2026 | Oregon sleep-testing company owner pleaded guilty to health care fraud conspiracy; charged in the 2026 Takedown | Health care fraud | Oregon | Pleaded guilty | Estimated loss of more than $2 million | Official release Earlier release (Aug 5, 2026) |
| Jul 31, 2026 | Kansas woman, fiduciary for her veteran father, misappropriated his VA disability compensation; sentenced to probation | Fiduciary fraud | Kansas | Sentenced (after guilty plea) | $49,000 | Official release |
| Jul 30, 2026 | Orlando clinic CEO and a VA Community Care employee pleaded guilty to kickbacks and bribes for steering VA patients | Kickbacks / bribery (VA employee) | Florida, Middle | Pleaded guilty | More than $14 million billed, over $11 million paid; about $175,000 paid to the VA employee | Official release Earlier release (Jul 30, 2026) |
| Jul 21, 2026 | DHS employee charged with using fake VA documents to get a VA-backed mortgage | VA home loan fraud | Massachusetts | Charged (allegation) | $478,000 loan | Official release |
| Jul 20, 2026 | Former VA medical technician pleaded guilty to PPP loan fraud (charged May 5) | COVID-19 fraud (VA employee) | Massachusetts | Pleaded guilty | $41,666 | Official release Earlier release (Jul 20, 2026) |
| Jul 20, 2026 | Missouri home health company owner sentenced to 18 months for false claims to the VA Community Care Network and Medicaid | Community care fraud | Missouri, Eastern | Sentenced | $210,000 loss | Official release Earlier release (Jul 20, 2026) |
| Jul 15, 2026 | Tallahassee man who posed as a decorated Army veteran sentenced to four years | Stolen valor / benefits fraud | Florida, Northern | Sentenced | More than $28,000 restitution to VA | Official release Earlier release (Jul 15, 2026) |
| Jul 13, 2026 | Seattle pair convicted in scheme targeting seriously ill veterans; one posed as a VA employee by phone | Scheme targeting veterans | Washington, Western | Convicted | About $8,300 | Official release |
| Jul 8, 2026 | West Virginia woman pleaded guilty to stealing VA and Social Security benefits as a family member's fiduciary | Fiduciary fraud | West Virginia, Southern | Pleaded guilty | Approximately $160,000 | Official release |
| Jul 6, 2026 | Massachusetts man indicted, accused of impersonating an Army veteran since 1994 to get VA care (arrested March 6) | Identity theft / health care fraud | Massachusetts | Charged (allegation) | Nearly $30,000 in VA medical care and medications | Official release Earlier release (Jul 6, 2026) |
| Jul 1, 2026 | Maryland oncology practice and owner agree to pay $1.45 million to resolve False Claims Act allegations (VA, Medicare, Medicaid) | False Claims Act | Maryland | Civil settlement | $1.45 million | Official release |
| Jun 23, 2026 | West Virginia sleep lab settles False Claims allegations over VA community care and Medicaid claims (2026 Takedown) | False Claims Act | West Virginia, Southern | Civil settlement | $120,000 | Official release |
| Jun 23, 2026 | Oregon clinical lab owner charged in genetic testing fraud (2026 Takedown) | Health care fraud | Oregon | Charged (allegation) | Loss of over $15 million | Official release |
| Jun 23, 2026 | Nevada sales executive charged in wound allograft kickback scheme (2026 Takedown) | Health care kickbacks | Arizona | Charged (allegation) | $1.2 billion in claims; about $614 million paid | Official release |
| Jun 23, 2026 | Iowa home care business and owner charged with defrauding the Veterans Community Care Program (2026 Takedown) | Community care fraud | Iowa, Northern | Charged (allegation) | Over $350,000 | Official release |
| Jun 23, 2026 | Louisiana lab sales representative indicted in respiratory testing fraud conspiracy (2026 Takedown) | Health care fraud | Louisiana, Eastern | Charged (allegation) | More than $28.4 million reimbursed | Official release |
| Jun 23, 2026 | North Carolina medical equipment supplier indicted in multimillion-dollar fraud conspiracy (2026 Takedown) | Health care fraud | North Carolina, Eastern | Charged (allegation) | Multimillion-dollar (no figure given) | Official release |
| Jun 23, 2026 | Virginia personal care attendant pleaded guilty to forging a veteran's VA benefit checks | Theft from veteran | Virginia, Western | Pleaded guilty | About $30,000 loss; four VA checks totaling $8,000 | Official release |
| Jun 22, 2026 | West Virginia physician assistant sentenced to 12 months for falsifying medical records to get VA disability benefits | Benefits fraud | West Virginia, Northern | Sentenced | More than $240,000 in student loans discharged | Official release |
| Jun 17, 2026 | West Virginia massage therapy business owner pleaded guilty to stealing from CHAMPVA | CHAMPVA fraud | West Virginia, Southern | Pleaded guilty | More than $175,000 | Official release |
| Jun 11, 2026 | North Carolina woman indicted on immigration fraud and VA disability fraud charges | Benefits fraud | Missouri, Western | Charged (allegation) | Not stated | Official release |
| Jun 9, 2026 | Broadway Electric, Cornerstone Contracting and two executives agree to pay $21.3 million over service-disabled veteran set-aside contract allegations | SDVOSB contract fraud | New York, Northern | Civil settlement | $21.3 million | Official release |
| Jun 9, 2026 | Missouri woman pleaded guilty to PPP loan wire fraud | COVID-19 fraud | Missouri, Western | Pleaded guilty | $20,000 | Official release |
| Jun 2, 2026 | Officium Global and Loyal Source agree to pay more than $3.6 million over service-disabled veteran small business certifications | SDVOSB contract fraud | Florida, Middle | Civil settlement | More than $3.6 million | Official release |
| May 27, 2026 | Mississippi woman, VA fiduciary for her disabled veteran son, sentenced to more than three years (pleaded guilty Jan. 9) | Fiduciary fraud | Mississippi, Southern | Sentenced | Loss of more than $200,000 | Official release Earlier release (May 27, 2026) |
| May 26, 2026 | Former VA employee sentenced in a Michigan state case for COVID-19 relief and PPP fraud (convicted April 24) | COVID-19 fraud (VA employee) | Michigan (state court) | Sentenced | More than $60,000 | Official release Earlier release (May 26, 2026) |
| May 14, 2026 | HealthSplash owner convicted in $1 billion fraud conspiracy over unnecessary medical devices | Health care fraud | Florida, Southern | Convicted | Over $1 billion billed | Official release |
| May 11, 2026 | New Hampshire man sentenced to 21 months for stealing from an elderly disabled veteran (pleaded guilty Feb. 2) | Theft from veteran | New Hampshire | Sentenced | $225,200 | Official release Earlier release (May 11, 2026) |
| May 8, 2026 | Former NFL player sentenced to more than 16 years in CHAMPVA and Medicare brace scheme (convicted Feb. 3) | CHAMPVA fraud | Florida, Middle | Sentenced | $197 million; more than $110 million restitution | Official release Earlier release (May 8, 2026) |
| May 8, 2026 | Washington man sentenced for using a veteran's identity for more than 25 years to get VA benefits and care | Identity theft / benefits fraud | Washington, Eastern | Sentenced | More than $1 million restitution | Official release |
| May 4, 2026 | Florida man pleaded guilty after falsely claiming to VA that he was legally blind | Benefits fraud | Florida, Middle | Pleaded guilty | More than $240,000 | Official release |
| Apr 22, 2026 | Florida eye center and doctor agree to pay $415,000 to resolve False Claims allegations (Medicare and VHA) | False Claims Act | Massachusetts | Civil settlement | $415,000 | Official release |
| Apr 16, 2026 | Former Jacksonville pastor indicted on PPP loan wire fraud charges | COVID-19 fraud | Florida, Middle | Charged (allegation) | Approximately $50,000 in losses | Official release |
| Apr 10, 2026 | Former VA employee charged with COVID-19 disaster loan and PPP fraud | COVID-19 fraud (VA employee) | Massachusetts | Charged (allegation) | More than $70,000 | Official release |
| Apr 2, 2026 | Advanced Urology and a Georgia doctor to pay $14 million to settle False Claims Act allegations | False Claims Act | Georgia, Northern | Civil settlement | $14 million | Official release |
| Apr 2, 2026 | New Orleans businessman charged with false statement on a COVID-19 relief loan application | COVID-19 fraud | Louisiana, Eastern | Charged (allegation) | Not stated | Official release |
| Apr 2, 2026 | Orlando acupuncture company and owner agree to pay $100,000 over inflated VA claims | False Claims Act | Florida, Middle | Civil settlement | $100,000 | Official release |
| Mar 25, 2026 | Former executive director of VA's Office of Electronic Health Record Modernization charged with concealing gifts and cash from contractors | Ethics / gifts (VA official) | District of Columbia | Charged (allegation) | Thousands of dollars in cash and gifts (exact figure not stated) | Official release |
| Mar 25, 2026 | Team Rehab agrees to pay nearly $5 million to settle False Claims Act allegations, including claims to VA | False Claims Act | Michigan, Eastern | Civil settlement | Nearly $5 million | Official release |
| Mar 17, 2026 | Anchorage doctor who ran a rheumatology clinic sentenced to more than six years for health care fraud scheme | Health care fraud | Alaska | Sentenced | $12.5 million scheme | Official release |
| Mar 17, 2026 | Washington woman sentenced to 17 months for faking paralysis to collect VA benefits | Benefits / caregiver fraud | Washington, Western | Sentenced | More than $1 million; more than $930,000 restitution | Official release |
| Mar 12, 2026 | Former VA nursing assistant sentenced to probation for PPP loan fraud | COVID-19 fraud (VA employee) | Massachusetts | Sentenced | More than $20,000 loan; more than $62,000 restitution | Official release |
| Mar 3, 2026 | Tallahassee fiduciary sentenced to two years for stealing VA funds | Fiduciary fraud | Florida, Northern | Sentenced | Over $50,000 | Official release |
| Feb 27, 2026 | Owners of Pennsylvania physical and aquatic therapy company each sentenced to six years | Health care fraud | Pennsylvania, Western | Sentenced | $250,000 fine each | Official release |
| Feb 27, 2026 | Former national sales director sentenced to three years in brain-scan kickback scheme | Health care kickbacks | Massachusetts | Sentenced | More than $70 million billed; more than $27 million restitution | Official release |
| Feb 24, 2026 | Texas doctor sentenced in compounded-medication scheme | Health care fraud | Texas, Northern | Sentenced | $145 million scheme; more than $13 million restitution | Official release |
| Feb 20, 2026 | Former Cleveland VA medical center logistics employee and a buyer sentenced over purchase card thefts | Theft (VA employee) | Ohio, Northern | Sentenced | $198,183.84 | Official release |
| Feb 20, 2026 | Former NFL player and lab owner convicted in genetic testing fraud scheme | Health care fraud | Texas, Northern | Convicted | $328 million | Official release |
| Feb 20, 2026 | Ohio man indicted for GI Bill, student aid and loan discharge fraud | GI Bill fraud | Ohio, Southern | Charged (allegation) | Not stated | Official release |
| Feb 19, 2026 | New Hampshire man sentenced for using CARES Act funds to buy a golf course | COVID-19 fraud | New Hampshire | Sentenced | More than $1 million | Official release |
| Feb 17, 2026 | Zynex, Inc. enters non-prosecution agreement over health care and securities fraud | Health care fraud | Rhode Island | Non-prosecution agreement | Between $5 million and $12.5 million | Official release |
| Feb 4, 2026 | MultiCare Health System to pay more than $3 million to settle spinal surgery fraud allegations | False Claims Act | Washington, Eastern | Civil settlement | More than $3 million | Official release |
| Feb 4, 2026 | Memphis barber school owner sentenced to eight years for GI Bill fraud | GI Bill fraud | Tennessee, Western | Sentenced | More than $2.9 million | Official release |
| Feb 2, 2026 | Cincinnati woman pleaded guilty to stealing from veterans whose money she managed | Fiduciary fraud | Ohio, Southern | Pleaded guilty | More than $158,000 | Official release |
| Jan 29, 2026 | North Carolina medical supply co-owner sentenced in Medicaid fraud scheme | Health care fraud | North Carolina, Middle | Sentenced | Restitution of $2,483,855.72 | Official release |
| Jan 21, 2026 | Pennsylvania man sentenced to 18 months for VA disability fraud | Benefits fraud | Pennsylvania, Eastern | Sentenced | More than $240,000 | Official release |
| Jan 21, 2026 | Former Zynex CEO and COO indicted for health care and securities fraud | Health care fraud | Rhode Island | Charged (allegation) | Company collected more than $873 million (alleged) | Official release |
| Jan 8, 2026 | Missouri man sentenced to 13 years for neglecting his veteran uncle and hiding his death to keep collecting benefits | Benefits theft | Missouri, Eastern | Sentenced | $1.8 million | Official release |
How do I report VA fraud, including anonymously?
Report suspected fraud, waste or abuse in VA programs to the VA OIG Hotline through its online complaint forms, by phone at 1-800-488-8244, or by mail to VA Inspector General Hotline (53H), 810 Vermont Avenue, NW, Washington, D.C. 20420. The hotline FAQ explains the difference between a confidential complaint and an anonymous one. It also says only non-anonymous complaints may be considered for cash rewards.
What does charged or indicted mean?
A charge or indictment is an allegation. Everyone charged is presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty in court. On this page, "Charged" means a criminal complaint, information or indictment has been filed. A civil settlement resolves allegations and is usually not an admission of liability unless the official release says so.
Who investigates VA fraud?
Every case on this page is listed in VA OIG's Criminal Investigative Updates. Cases are prosecuted by the Justice Department through U.S. Attorney's Offices, and one is a Michigan state case. VA OIG often works with other agencies such as HHS-OIG, the FBI and DCIS.
What are the most common types of VA fraud in 2026?
Cases in the 2026 records include VA disability benefits fraud and stolen valor claims, fiduciary theft from veterans, Caregiver Support Program fraud, CHAMPVA and VA community care billing fraud, health care kickbacks, VA home loan fraud, GI Bill school fraud, service-disabled veteran set-aside contract fraud, and pandemic loan fraud by VA employees.
More: VA OIG hospital inspections 2026 | all VA Headlines reports | Official list: VA OIG Criminal Investigative Updates
VA Headlines summarizes public records from official .gov sources. Amounts are quoted as stated in official summaries and may be alleged. Contact: VAHeadlines@outlook.com